Bloomberg News

New Zealand Cricket Names Brendan McCullum as Captain

December 06, 2012

New Zealand Cricket named Brendan McCullum as captain of its Twenty20 and Test squads to tour South Africa this month, replacing Ross Taylor who has subsequently declared himself unavailable.

The Test squad contains four new faces from the recent tour of Sri Lanka with Dean Brownlee and Peter Fulton added as batsmen, BJ Watling replacing Kruger van Wyk as test wicketkeeper and Bruce Martin selected as second spin bowler rather than leg-spinner Todd Astle, according to an e-mailed statement.

The Twenty20 squad includes Corey Anderson, Mitchell McClenaghan, Derek de Boorder, Colin Munro and Jimmy Neesham at international level for the first time.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Tracy Withers at

Toyota's Hydrogen Man
blog comments powered by Disqus