BUSINESSWEEK ONLINE : FEBRUARY 5, 2001 ISSUE
BOOKS

The BusinessWeek Best-Seller List


Is the ''market god'' a ''golden calf''? In One Market Under God, this month's No. 14 hardcover, Thomas Frank disputes the increasingly popular equation of the workings of the market with democratic process, and the idea that capitalist globalization promotes political freedom. Instead, he says, free-market extremism has promoted a concentration of power, inequality, and delusions about an endless bull market for stocks.

The 35-year-old Frank is editor of The Baffler, an influential magazine he founded in 1988 that offers social criticism in the tradition of H.L. Mencken and Edmund Wilson. His book, while occasionally repetitious, is an important and often hilarious counter to the free-market apologia of such writers as Thomas L. Friedman and George Gilder. But it fails to credit the recent technology boom for being both deeply innovative and, in many respects, culturally liberating. Still, its critique of the free-market sales pitch is often insightful and powerful.

By ANNE COLAMOSCA


HARDCOVER BUSINESS BOOKS


1 WHO MOVED MY CHEESE? by Spencer Johnson, M.D. (Putnam -- $19.95) Learning to accept change. LAST MONTH: 1, MONTHS ON LIST: 24

2 WHEN GENIUS FAILED by Roger Lowenstein (Random House -- $26.95) Inside hedge fund Long-Term Capital Management. LAST MONTH: 3, MONTHS ON LIST: 4

3 MAESTRO by Bob Woodward (Simon & Schuster -- $25) An inside look at Fed chief Greenspan's reign since 1987. LAST MONTH: 11, MONTHS ON LIST: 2

4 FISH! by Stephen C. Lundin, PhD, Harry Paul, and John Christensen (Hyperion -- $19.95) Motivating employees the Pike Place Fish Market way. LAST MONTH: 5, MONTHS ON LIST: 4

5 FIRST, BREAK ALL THE RULES by Marcus Buckingham and Curt Coffman (Simon & Schuster -- $26) A Gallup probe into managerial success. LAST MONTH: 2, MONTHS ON LIST: 20

6 THE TIPPING POINT by Malcolm Gladwell (Little, Brown -- $24.95) Discovering what turns an idea into a hot trend. LAST MONTH: 7, MONTHS ON LIST: 10

7 THE ART OF POSSIBILITY by Rosamund Stone Zander and Benjamin Zander (Harvard Business School -- $22.50) Realizing opportunity. LAST MONTH: 4, MONTHS ON LIST: 3

8 THE POWER OF GOLD by Peter L. Bernstein (Wiley -- $27.95) The shiny stuff and its place in civilization. LAST MONTH: 9, MONTHS ON LIST: 3

9 LEADING THE REVOLUTION by Gary Hamel (Harvard Business School -- $29.95) A manifesto for radical innovators. LAST MONTH: 6, MONTHS ON LIST: 5

10 THE MILLIONAIRE MIND by Thomas J. Stanley, PhD (Andrews McMeel -- $26.95) The values of the wealthy revealed. LAST MONTH: --, MONTHS ON LIST: 8

11 GET YOUR SHARE by Julie Stav, with Deborah Adamson (Berkley -- $19.95) Stock market fundamentals. LAST MONTH: --, MONTHS ON LIST: 2

12 THE 21 IRREFUTABLE LAWS OF LEADERSHIP by John C. Maxwell (Thomas Nelson -- $17.99) A minister's codification. LAST MONTH: 10, MONTHS ON LIST: 6

13 GREENSPAN by Justin Martin (Perseus -- $28) A bio of the Fed's man. LAST MONTH: --, MONTHS ON LIST: 1

14 ONE MARKET UNDER GOD by Thomas Frank (Doubleday -- $26) Capitalism vs. democracy. LAST MONTH: --, MONTHS ON LIST: 1

15 GUNG HO! by Ken Blanchard and Sheldon Bowles (Morrow -- $20) How Walton Works No. 2 fired up its employees. LAST MONTH: 8, MONTHS ON LIST: 22


PAPERBACK BUSINESS BOOKS


1 RICH DAD, POOR DAD by Robert T. Kiyosaki, with Sharon L. Lechter, CPA (Warner -- $15.95) Teach your kids the rules of money that the rich play by. LAST MONTH: 1, MONTHS ON LIST: 20

2 THE MILLIONAIRE NEXT DOOR by Thomas J. Stanley, PhD, and William D. Danko, PhD (Pocket Books -- $14) The ways of the wealthy among us. LAST MONTH: 10, MONTHS ON LIST: 28

3 THE 9 STEPS TO FINANCIAL FREEDOM by Suze Orman (Three Rivers -- $13.95) Learn to save. LAST MONTH: --, MONTHS ON LIST: 1

4 THE 7 HABITS OF HIGHLY EFFECTIVE PEOPLE by Stephen R. Covey (Fireside -- $14) Habitually popular. LAST MONTH: 2, MONTHS ON LIST: 71

5 THE ONE MINUTE MANAGER by Kenneth Blanchard, PhD, and Spencer Johnson, M.D. (Berkley -- $12.95) Management techniques in story form. LAST MONTH: 3, MONTHS ON LIST: 52

6 WHAT COLOR IS YOUR PARACHUTE? by Richard Nelson Bolles (Ten Speed Press -- $16.95) The enduring job-search bible. LAST MONTH: 4, MONTHS ON LIST: 2

7 RICH DAD'S GUIDE TO INVESTING by Robert T. Kiyosaki, with Sharon L. Lechter, CPA (Warner -- $19.95) Becoming rich, not merely comfortable. LAST MONTH: 6, MONTHS ON LIST: 7

8 RICH DAD'S CASHFLOW QUADRANT by Robert T. Kiyosaki, with Sharon L. Lechter, CPA (Warner -- $17.95) Move from job security to independence. LAST MONTH: 5, MONTHS ON LIST: 9

9 THE 48 LAWS OF POWER by Robert Greene (Penguin -- $15) Thoughts of power brokers distilled. LAST MONTH: 11, MONTHS ON LIST: 4

10 THE LEXUS AND THE OLIVE TREE by Thomas L. Friedman (Anchor Books -- $15) Globalization and its discontents. LAST MONTH: 13, MONTHS ON LIST: 8

11 THE MOTLEY FOOL INVESTMENT GUIDE by David and Tom Gardner (Fireside -- $14) The online duo puts it on paper. LAST MONTH: --, MONTHS ON LIST: 39

12 J.K. LASSER'S YOUR INCOME TAX 2001 by the J.K. Lasser Institute (Wiley -- $15.95) W-2s, etc. LAST MONTH: 12, MONTHS ON LIST: 2

13 THE WALL STREET JOURNAL GUIDE TO UNDERSTANDING MONEY & INVESTING by Kenneth M. Morris and Virginia B. Morris (Fireside -- $15.95) Concise explanations enriched with graphics. LAST MONTH: --, MONTHS ON LIST: 15

14 GETTING TO YES by Roger Fisher, William Ury, and Bruce Patton (Penguin -- $12.95) A Harvard team's step-by-step guide to conflict resolution. LAST MONTH: 8, MONTHS ON LIST: 66

15 THE MOTLEY FOOL YOU HAVE MORE THAN YOU THINK by David and Tom Gardner (Fireside -- $14) Help for the investment-challenged. LAST MONTH: --, MONTHS ON LIST: 4


BusinessWeek's Best-Seller List is based on a survey of chain and independent booksellers that carry a broad selection of books on economics, management, sales and marketing, small business, investing, personal finance, and careers. Well over 1,000 retail outlets nationwide are represented. Current rankings are based on a weighted analysis of unit sales in December.



_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

BACK TO TOP


INTERACT
E-Mail to Business Week Online

 
Copyright 2000-2009, Bloomberg L.P.
Terms of Use   Privacy Notice