Presidential Candidates Victims of Cyber Squatters

Posted by: David Kiley on May 15, 2007

If you want a little perspective on who among the presidential candidates will be most prepared…who is the most far-sighted….the most visionary…you might consider those who had the foresight to register their names as Internet domains when they had the chance.

That would be Hillary Clinton, www.hillaryclinton.com; Barack Obama, www.barackobama.com; Mitt Romney, www.mittromney.com; John McCain, www.johnmccain.com; and Joe Biden, www.joebiden.com.

Not so smart about the Internet way back when are Sam Brownback, who has a squatter on www.sambrownback.com; Rudy Giuliani, who also has a squatter on www.rudygiuliani.com; ditto Duncan Hunter who doesn’t have control of www.duncanhunter.com. The worst victim, though, is probably Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee, who has to put up with some guy who registered www.mikehuckabee.com a long time ago, and uses the site to bash the presidential hopeful. Got to love the First Amendment.

Judging by the Republicans who don’t have control of their name domains, could it be that the Dems were better business people than the GOPers.? The world really is upside down.

Meantime, as I wrote in the magazine a few weeks back, you can always tell who among the candidates are taken most seriously by their competitors based on who is buying Google key words. Barack Obama, for example, had been paying for “Hillary Clinton” so that a sponsored link for his campaign site would come up when people searched on the former first lady’s name. Not now. He is only buying his own name this week. Mitt Romney, too, has cut back on buying his rivals’ names as key words so his campaign site popped up as a sponsored link.

At least for now, the Giuliani campaign is the only big key-word buyer. If you search on Sam Brownback, John McCain, Mike Huckabee or Tom Tancredo, the only campaign-based sponsored link that pops up on the right side of the screen is www.Joinrudy08.com
Those would-be Tancredo supporters should really drive big traffic to Rudy’s site.

 

About

News, opinions, inflammatory meanderings and occasional ravings about the world of advertising, marketing and media. By marketing editor Burt Helm, Innovation Editor Helen Walters, and senior correspondent Michael Arndt.

BW Mall - Sponsored Links

Buy a link now!