Businessweek Archives

Help! I have to review the video iPod


? Million dollar Web entrepreneur targeted by extortionists |

Main

| Another blue-chip blogger: Platts launches alternative energy blog ?

January 20, 2006

Help! I have to review the video iPod

Stephen Baker

I have to write a review of the video iPod. I welcome your input. Those of you who have one, any gratifying features? Any complaints?

I bought one (30 gigs) a couple of weeks ago. I find the video quality stunning. Haven't given the battery a good test yet, nor have I figured out how to load photos into it. There's an Adobe page that pops up for some reason on the computer screen when I sync it up. It might have something to do with photos.

I guess I'm a bit disappointed that the machine doesn't handle more of the podcasting updates for me. I expected that as soon as I hitched it to the computer, the system would update the podcasts automatically, and download them onto the iPod. That process is taking a little more participation from me. But maybe I'm doing something wrong.

So, at that primitive stage in iPod management, I ask for your ideas, suggestions, etc etc.

Thanks.

04:29 PM

BusinessWeek

TrackBack URL for this entry:

http://blogs.businessweek.com/mt/mt-tb.cgi/

Pictures are synced via a folder you set in iTunes--photos in it will automagically be transferred to your iPod when you sync. Podcasts should also be pretty automatic, they are on my Mac at least.

Posted by: Jon Gales at January 20, 2006 05:24 PM

Steve, I had the same issue with Podcast synching, I just had to go into "preferences" and make sure it was set to update whenever I connected. One minor issue is when you start a video or podcast, and then want to stop it (and have it go to the beginning later), I am only able to "pause."

Overall, though, it's an amazing device. Now I just need to get past the irony of using the world's most advanced technology to watch old Adam-12 and Dragnet episodes....

Posted by: Gary Goldhammer at January 20, 2006 06:03 PM

I have a funny feeling that you might be connecting it to a PC. Plug it into a Mac and try again; that should make things much easier.

Posted by: Mart at January 20, 2006 09:45 PM

I've had my 30GB iPod since late October.

When I first got it, I had a lot of trouble with accuracy on the click wheel. Very difficult to get it to stop exactly where I wanted it to. I'm getting better, but still I find myself over/under shooting my target way too often.

I have my iPod set to only transfer those Podcasts I haven't listened to. I've also transferred some TV show episodes from DVD and it makes long train rides far more bearable.

I wish there were more cases in the stores. I don't like to order cases online. I like to see and feel it before purchase. I went to the local Apple Store at least 3 times and into every gadget and electronic store I could find and no 5th generation iPod cases to be found. With 14 million of these things sold, I guess there's not enough to go around.

Other than that, I'm thrilled with mine and the battery life has been what I expected.

Posted by: Judi Sohn at January 20, 2006 10:22 PM

I have iTunes set to start automatocally with a link in my StartUp group (this is Windows, obviously), and from the preferences I have iTunes set to check for new podcasts every hour, have it download all new episodes, and I keep only unplayed episodes (I have a Nano and want to keep space used on the device to a minimum).

For photos I set up a separate folder to sync with the iPod - there is a setting for that in the iPod preferences, which can only be set when the iPod is connected. If I remember correctly you can set it to sync with an Adobe Elements folder specifically or just to a normal Windows folder. Again, with a Nano I just have a couple of photos of my kids that I have copied to that folder and it syncs just fine.

Posted by: doug at January 20, 2006 11:10 PM

Hey Steve,

After 2.5 yrs my former 2 Gen. iPod finally gave out (selector button stopped selecting), so I bought a new 60 GB video iPod in black. I must say that I love it.

While I haven't fully tested the battery's capability with video alone, I have been able to enjoy 1.5 hrs of video on long trips to airports and through the subway. I predict that by the end of the year, Apple will have signed most broadcast networks to iTunes for their current shows.

And, in the iPod preferences section, you should be able to select for your podcasts to update (daily, hourly) and will then sync to your iPod.

So far, two big thumbs up!

Posted by: Chris Bauman at January 21, 2006 04:01 AM

Like it a lot. Also very thin which I like. I think it is better than the Nano. 50 bucks more, slightly bigger and much more capabilities.

Very handy to carry all your presentations with you and promotional videos. Gives a new dimension to the elevator pitch.

Converting material from QT pro to the right format is slow however. Programs like Podner help there.

Looks much better on a TV then I had originally thought.

Good luck with the review.

Dirk Spiers

www.brandscribe.com

Posted by: Dirk Spiers at January 21, 2006 04:49 AM

this statement really needs to be made

RTFM!

get a clue

Posted by: natas at January 21, 2006 08:00 AM

Thanks for the comments. Yes, Mart, I am using a P.C., and I have no doubt a Mac would be easier. I can just imagine my wife's face when she sees the new Mac in our den. "But honey," I explain, "the iPod just wasn't syncing up right with the PC..."

Actually, now that I think about it, that very scenario is probably being played out in at least a few households this very weekend. But in his household, with this cashflow, it still ranks as a fantasy.

Posted by: steve baker at January 21, 2006 10:44 AM

Got one (Blk 5G) for Christmas and love it. On my second iPod, first was (3G, touch). The screen is amazing when watching tv shows etc.

Just like anything else, you have to play with the preference first to tell iTunes how you want to use it. The Adobe page pops up because that's how it's setup in the preference. Play around with the setting/preference first.

Here's how mine is setup:

iTunes downloads the latest podcast for me every morning. When I wake up, I dock my iPod, it syncs all my podcast and latest playlist I created and then ejects. Ready for my commute.

It's Greeeeaaaat

Posted by: Dave at January 22, 2006 08:19 AM

I spend six hours a week on Amtrak, commuting between NY and DC. I LOVE my new iPod. I did have a few problems with the synching preferences (and I use a PC) but they were easily solved by looking at the documentation.

The video quality is great but the available content is pretty poor. I have a DVD recorder hooked up to my TiVo, and am wondering if I can figure out how to download the files to the iPod. The person who makes this easy for the consumer and palatable for the content provider will make a fortune.

I have a wireless air card so I can connect to the Internet on the train, and so I end up using the time to download music. This new toy has me looking forward to my long train rides. I can't imagine being without it.

Posted by: Heather Perram at January 23, 2006 05:03 PM

I use software from TV Harmony (http://www.tvharmony.com/main/products.php)to automatically download my TiVo shows to my computer and convert them to iPod's video format. All I have to do is add them to iTunes.

Posted by: Erica T at January 23, 2006 10:48 PM

yes there is a way to get your tivo to your pc. compy them to a dvd then go to your computer and as long as they are copied in the mpeg format they can be imported into itunes. otherwise a third party conversion program can ussually be bought for 20.00 to convert avi, dvix etc to mpeg so it can be imported

Posted by: Nick at January 27, 2006 11:24 AM

Theres a reason why the url if you click my name, exsists, ipods still break too frequently. 1st gens had HORRIBLE headphone jacks and firewire ports, same for the 2nd gens, but you had an advantage with them as you could replace the wheel if it went bad. 3rd gen in my opinion are the best ever made for durablity/price. You can change nearly any part inside them if it breaks by using the all mighty e-bay. 1st gen minis were not too bad, but not as easily repaired and their headphone jacks had issues, 2nd gen minis are probably my second favorite ipods ever, exceptional price/durablity/storage.

Whats my review of the video? well following apples horrible customer service and even worse quality/durablity i would strongly suggest sitting back and watching to see not if there are flaws, but what they are. I have had a few fights with apple and ultimately keep fixing them myself with the guides i downloaded.

Hold your horses for a bit.

Posted by: Aaron at February 8, 2006 04:42 PM

I currently own a 60 gb and a 30 gb video i-pod, both in black. Though they are great portable media storage/players, there are some flaws in the design. Battery life is NOT the 15-20 hours(for 60 gb i-pod only) that the manufacturer suggests, but instead 10-12 hours like the 30 gb video i-pod. Watching video GREATLY reduces battery life, by AT LEAST half. Also the screens are very easily scatched, and new screens can be as much as $150! As a matter of fact, the entire i-pod is scratched!At first I was extremely pleased with the new Video I-pod. Though as time wears on, so does my i-pod. THESE ARE VERY WEAR-PRONE UNITS!!!!

Posted by: rik at February 15, 2006 01:04 PM

I use the video 30 for music and books(spoken word). Have loaded about 25 of my business & sales CD's for listening while I drive - it is a lot easier than handling all those CD's. And I can highlight the summary chapter of Jim Collins' "Good to Great" - or any key chapter of any collection - for easy location and listening.

And the music is great also. It has rekindled my interest in listening to music - and I have downloaded $100 in songs that I would not have otherwise acquired by CD's alone.

Biggest complaint: The songs and "books" are mixed on the main library tab, so you need to create a separate smart playlist for music if you want it separate. Otherwise, no shuffling or you wil get songs and narration mixed.

Posted by: Jack at March 4, 2006 07:22 PM

Well, since this is Business Week I will write about Apple's support and customer service.

Bottom Line: I will not buy another device from Apple.

Problem: Apple seems to have their various support departments so segregated, designed to send their users into the "land of frustration". I called a phone number for AppleCare and get a guy with some knowledge about Windows.... suggested that I talk to iTunes. After two weeks of correspondence with iTunes support, they said that I may have problem with my hardware or software. During this time, I have also brought my iPOD into MAC store, where the "genius" try to synchronize my videos with a different iPOD and found the same error. This information was relayed to the iTunes support. When I asked for a refund for the titles they wrote me back, and quote:

"In addition, your request for a refund was carefully considered;

however, according to our Terms of Sale, all purchases made on the iTunes Music Store are ineligible for refund. This policy matches our refund policies on open or downloaded software and provides protection for copyrighted materials."

The device itself is very sleek and the idea is great! I would love to be able to take my favorite TV shows on the road and enjoy them at a time of convenience. I hope this will come some day!

Posted by: Sam at March 28, 2006 02:01 AM

How do you get photos onto a video ipod?

Posted by: Derek at January 14, 2007 11:49 PM


Burger King's Young Buns
LIMITED-TIME OFFER SUBSCRIBE NOW

(enter your email)
(enter up to 5 email addresses, separated by commas)

Max 250 characters

 
blog comments powered by Disqus