Bloomberg News

Former Winners Van Persie, Bale Among PFA Top Player Nominees

April 19, 2013

Former winners Robin van Persie of Manchester United and Gareth Bale of Tottenham are among the nominees for the Professional Footballers’ Association player of the year award.

Van Persie, who won the award last year while at Arsenal, and Bale, the 2011 recipient, are joined on the shortlist by Manchester United midfielder Michael Carrick, Chelsea midfielders Eden Hazard and Juan Mata, and Liverpool striker Luis Suarez.

Bale and Hazard are also nominated for the young player of the year, presented to those aged 23 or younger at the start of the season. Aston Villa’s Christian Benteke; Romelu Lukaku, who is on loan at West Brom from Chelsea; Manchester United’s Danny Welbeck; and Arsenal’s Jack Wilshere, the 2011 winner, are the other finalists for the young player honor.

Aston Villa’s Andy Gray in 1977 and Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo in 2007 are the only players to win both awards in the same season. Arsenal’s Thierry Henry (2003-2004) and Ronaldo (2007-2008) are the only recipients of the player of the year award in consecutive years.

The winners will be announced April 28. The nominees and winners are selected in a vote of players from England’s 92 soccer clubs in the top four divisions.

To contact the reporter on this story: Bob Bensch in London at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at

The Good Business Issue
blog comments powered by Disqus