Bloomberg News

U.S. Retail Sales, China CPI, EU Summit: Week Ahead March 9-16

March 07, 2013

U.S. retail sales rose last month, indicating Americans kept spending even after an increase in payroll taxes, data in the coming week may show.

Chinese inflation probably accelerated to 3 percent, the highest in nine months, in February, signaling the second- largest economy is rebounding from a slowdown.

European Union leaders will meet in a two-day summit to discuss tighter banking regulation and Cyprus.

The Federal Reserve will say which U.S. banks can pay dividends and buy back shares. And Samsung Electronics Co., the world’s top-selling smartphone manufacturer, is likely to unveil its Galaxy S IV model, running on Google Inc.’s Android operating system.

SATURDAY, MARCH 9

--China releases February inflation data. Consumer-price gains slowed to 2 percent in January from 2.5 percent in December, while producer prices declined 1.6 percent, an 11th straight drop. 09:30 in Beijing (03/08 20:30 EST). Data on industrial production, fixed-asset investment and retail sales will also be released. 13:30 in Beijing (00:30 EST).

To contact the reporters on this story: Greg Miles in New York at gmiles1@bloomberg.net; Dick Schumacher in London at dschumacher@bloomberg.net; Jim McDonald in Tokyo at jmcdonald8@bloomberg.net

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Dick Schumacher at dschumacher@bloomberg.net


Burger King's Young Buns
LIMITED-TIME OFFER SUBSCRIBE NOW

(enter your email)
(enter up to 5 email addresses, separated by commas)

Max 250 characters

 
blog comments powered by Disqus