Bloomberg News

Mercosur Mulls Ecuador, Bolivia Membership, Agencia Brasil Says

December 02, 2012

South America’s Mercosur will discuss the possibility of Ecuador and Bolivia becoming full members when leaders of the trade bloc meet in Brasilia on Dec.7, Brazil’s government news service Agencia Brasil reported.

The objective is to deepen South American integration, Agencia Brasil quote Brazilian Foreign Minister Antonio Patriota as saying.

Mercosur’s full members are Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay and Venezuela. Associate members are Chile, Peru, Ecuador, Bolivia and Colombia.

To contact the reporter on this story: Raymond Colitt in the Brasilia newsroom at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Joshua Goodman in the Rio de Janeiro newsroom at 2535 or

Tim Cook's Reboot
blog comments powered by Disqus