Bloomberg News

England Selects Launchbury in Rugby Team to Face South Africa

November 22, 2012

Joe Launchbury will make his first Test start for England in the rugby international against South Africa in two days.

He replaces Wasps teammate Tom Palmer in the second row as one of six changes announced by coach Stuart Lancaster to the team beaten 20-14 by Australia last weekend.

Forwards Alex Corbisiero, Tom Wood and Ben Morgan also come into the side for the game at Twickenham. Mike Brown is at left wing and Ben Youngs at scrum-half.

The Springboks are unchanged from the team that beat Scotland 21-10.

England: A. Goode (Saracens); C. Ashton (Saracens), M. Tuilagi (Leicester), B. Barritt (Saracens), M. Brown (Harlequins); T. Flood (Leicester), B. Youngs (Leicester); A. Corbisiero (London Irish), T. Youngs (Leicester), D. Cole (Leicester), J. Launchbury (Wasps), G. Parling (Leicester), T. Wood (Northampton), C. Robshaw (Harlequins, capt.), B. Morgan (Gloucester).

Replacements: D. Paice (London Irish), D. Wilson (Bath), M. Vunipola (Saracens), M. Botha (Saracens), J. Haskell (Wasps), D. Care (Harlequins), O. Farrell (Saracens), J. Joseph (London Irish).

South Africa: Z. Kirchner (Blue Bulls); J.P. Pietersen (Sharks), J. de Jongh (Western Province), J. de Villiers (Western Province, capt.) F. Hougaard (Blue Bulls); P. Lambie (Sharks), R. Pienaar (Ulster); G. Steenkamp (Toulouse), A. Strauss (Cheetahs), J. du Plessis (Sharks), E. Etzebeth (Western Province), J. Kruger (Blue Bulls), F. Louw (Bath), W. Alberts (Sharks), D. Vermeulen (Western Province).

Replacements: S. Brits (Saracens), H. van der Merwe (Leinster), P. Cilliers (Western Province), F. van der Merwe (Blue Bulls), M. Coetzee (Sharks), E. Jantjies (Golden Lions), J. Taute (Golden Lions), L. Mvovo (Sharks).

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Peter-Joseph Hegarty at

Cash Is for Losers
blog comments powered by Disqus