Bloomberg News

Big East to Have Two Six-Team Divisions for Football in 2013

November 13, 2012

The Big East Conference will have two six-team divisions for the 2013 football season, which will culminate with a new league championship game.

The East Division will feature Rutgers University, Central Florida, Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville and South Florida. The West Division will be comprised of Boise State, Houston, Memphis, San Diego State, Southern Methodist and Temple.

In the new structure, announced by the league today, each team will play eight conference games a season, five of those against division rivals.

The Big East championship game will be played between the division champions at the home field of one of the participating schools, not a neutral site, the conference said in a statement.

Big East Commissioner Mike Aresco said the alignment probably will be re-evaluated after the 2013 season, when the U.S. Naval Academy and possibly other schools join the conference.

To contact the reporter on this story: Erik Matuszewski in New York at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

The Good Business Issue
blog comments powered by Disqus