Bloomberg News

Spanish Golfer Lara Disqualified After Caddie Tries to Hide Club

June 22, 2012

Jose Manuel Lara

Jose Manuel Lara of Spain hits a tee shot during the final round of the Trophee du Hassan II golf tournament in Morocco. Photographer: Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images

Jose Manuel Lara was disqualified from golf’s BMW International Open after his caddie tried to hide the presence of an extra club in the Spaniard’s bag.

Lara’s caddie noticed a 15th club in the bag on the second hole of yesterday’s opening round in Cologne, Germany, and went into some bushes to try to hide it, according to European Tour referee John Paramor. That raised the suspicions of playing partners Damien McGrane and Peter Hedblom.

“They went and asked the chap, ‘What are you doing?”’ Paramor said in an interview with Sky Sports. “And he sort of fumbled out an answer saying, ‘I’ve got this wrong, I’ve done something bad, I wished it hadn’t happened.”’

After the caddie acknowledged his actions, which Paramor deemed “serious,” Lara was given a two-stroke penalty on each of the first two holes. After finishing with a 1-over-par 73, the two-time European Tour winner was disqualified.

“It was clearly the caddie doing what he felt at the time was the right thing, but was clearly the wrong thing,” Paramor told Sky Sports. “He’s kind of been asked not to come back and that’s how the matter’s been resolved.”

Lara, 44, is No. 200 in the Official World Golf Ranking. His best finishes this season were fourth at the Avantha Masters in February and fifth at the Sicilian Open in April.

To contact the reporter on this story: Bob Bensch in London at bbensch@bloomberg.net.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at celser@bloomberg.net.


Burger King's Young Buns
LIMITED-TIME OFFER SUBSCRIBE NOW

(enter your email)
(enter up to 5 email addresses, separated by commas)

Max 250 characters

 
blog comments powered by Disqus