Bloomberg News

Kolkata Defeats Chennai in Final for First IPL Cricket Title

May 27, 2012

Kolkata Knight Riders beat two-time defending champion Chennai Super Kings by five wickets in the final of cricket’s Indian Premier League last night to win the title for a first time.

Manvinder Bisla top-scored with 89 runs, while Jacques Kallis made 69 for Kolkata, which reached its victory target in Chennai with two balls remaining as Manoj Tiwary struck two straight boundaries.

Kolkata finished on 192-5 after Chennai had posted 190-3 from its 20 overs. Chennai has appeared in four of the competition’s five finals since its introduction in 2008, while Kolkata was playing in the showpiece for a first time.

Chennai appeared on course to win the IPL for a third straight year after Suresh Raina cracked 73 from 38 balls to lift his team to a commanding total.

Kolkata then lost a wicket in the opening over of its reply before Bisla and Kallis put on 136 for the second wicket. A run of four wickets for 36 runs brought Shakib Al Hasan and Tiwary to the crease, with Tiwary scoring nine runs from three balls to take his team to victory.

To contact the reporter on this story: James Cone in London at

To contact the editors responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at

The Aging of Abercrombie & Fitch
blog comments powered by Disqus