Bloomberg News

Leinster Routs Ulster 42-14 to Retain Heineken Cup Rugby Title

May 19, 2012

Leinster routed Ulster 42-14 in an all-Irish Heineken Cup rugby final to become the second team to win two straight titles.

Sean O’Brien, Cian Healy, Heinke van der Merwe and Sean Cronin scored tries at Twickenham Stadium in London as Leinster matched the record of the Leicester Tigers in 2001 and 2002. Leinster, which won its third title in four seasons, set marks for most points and biggest winning margin in the final of Europe’s elite club competition.

The Dublin-based club finished with eight wins and a draw to become the first team to go unbeaten during an Heineken Cup campaign.

Dan Tuohy scored a try and Ruan Pienaar kicked three penalties for Belfast-based Ulster, which was seeking its first title since 1999.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Bob Bensch at

Toyota's Hydrogen Man
blog comments powered by Disqus