Bloomberg News

Joe Maddon, Kirk Gibson Win Baseball’s Manager of Year Awards

November 16, 2011

Nov. 16 (Bloomberg) -- Joe Maddon of the Tampa Bay Rays was voted the American League’s Manager of the Year for the second time in four seasons, while Kirk Gibson of the Arizona Diamondbacks won the award in the National League.

Maddon, 57, received 26 of 28 first-place votes and a total of 133 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America after guiding the Rays to 91 wins and a playoff berth. Jim Leyland of the Detroit Tigers and Ron Washington of the Texas Rangers got one first-place vote each.

Gibson, 54, received 28 of 32 first-place votes and 152 points in the NL after managing the Diamondbacks to a 94-win season and a division title following consecutive last-place finishes. Ron Roenicke of the Milwaukee Brewers got three first- place votes and was second in the balloting, followed by Tony La Russa of the World Series-champion St. Louis Cardinals, who was first on one ballot.

Voting was conducted prior to the postseason by two BBWAA writers in each major-league city. Joe Girardi of the New York Yankees finished fifth in the AL balloting.

Maddon guided the Rays to a 91-71 record and a playoff appearance this year following an offseason in which the franchise lost players including Carl Crawford, Carlos Pena, Matt Garza and Rafael Soriano.

Tampa Bay overtook the Boston Red Sox for the American League’s wild-card berth on the final day of the season, overcoming a nine-game deficit in September.

Low Payroll

Maddon has a 368-280 record with the Rays over the last four seasons with one of the lowest payrolls in Major League Baseball, after going 127-197 during his first two years with the franchise.

Gibson, in his first full season in Arizona, led the Diamondbacks to a 94-68 record and the NL West title. He took over midway through the 2010 season when A.J. Hinch was fired and went 34-49 as the Diamondbacks finished last in the five- team NL West for the second straight year.

Gibson, a former outfielder and the NL’s Most Valuable Player in 1988 with the Los Angeles Dodgers, is the fourth MVP winner to be honored as a manager of the year, joining Frank Robinson, Don Baylor and Joe Torre.

The NL’s Cy Young Award will be presented by the BBWAA tomorrow. Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers won the AL Cy Young yesterday in a unanimous vote.

--Editors: Larry Siddons, Michael Sillup

To contact the reporter on this story: Erik Matuszewski in New York at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

The Good Business Issue
blog comments powered by Disqus